CYA is governed by a Board of Trustees. The Board is made up of persons distinguished for their professional accomplishments in the areas of law, business, education, philanthropy and scholarship, who volunteer their time and resources to supporting CYA. The Board of Trustees usually meets twice a year, once in the States and once in Greece.

In addition, CYA has a Board of Advisors, which plays a significant role in helping to ensure the continued excellence of CYA programs. Its members provide CYA with evaluations and recommendations regarding academics, program policies, and issues affecting students. Also, they are called upon to provide a sounding board for current issues in study abroad and how those issues should affect CYA programs and services.

Board of Trustees

K. Chris Todd
Chairman, Board of Trustees, College Year in Athens; Partner, Kellogg Hansen Todd  Figel & Frederick, PLLC

Raphael Moissis
Vice Chairman, Board of Trustees, College Year in Athens; Chair Emeritus, Foundation for Economic & Industrial Research (IOBE) - Greece; Honorary Chairman, AB Vassilopoulos S.A.

Peter Sutton Allen (CYA ’65)
Treasurer, Board of Trustees, College Year in Athens; Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, Rhode Island College

Constantine P. Petropoulos
Assistant Treasurer, College Year in Athens; Chairman Emeritus, Petros Petropoulos A.E.B.E.

Daphne Hatsopoulos
Secretary, Board of Trustees, College Year in Athens; Trustee, Boston Museum of Science

Anastassis G. David
Chairman of the Board, Coca Cola HBC AG

Mark D. Desjardins
Headmaster, St. John’s School, Houston, Texas

Nitzia Embiricos Logothetis (CYA ‘02)
Founder and Executive Chairwoman, Seleni Institute

Dimitri Gondicas
Director, Seeger Center for Hellenic Studies, Princeton University

Nicholas G. Hatsopoulos (CYA '83)
Professor of Neuroscience, University of Chicago

John C. Hermansen (CYA '71)
Founder & CEO, Language Analysis Systems, Inc.;
IBM Distinguished Engineer (ret.)

Samuel Holzman (CYA '10)
Doctoral Candidate in Art and Archaeology of the Mediterranean World, University of Pennsylvania

Yannis Ioannides
Max & Herta Neubauer Chair & Professor of Economics, Tufts University

George Komodikis
Investment Consultant; Managing Director, Madison Holdings

Christine Kondoleon
George & Margo Behrakis Senior Curator of Greek and Roman Art, Art of the Ancient World, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

Zoe Sophia Kontes (CYA ’95)
Associate Professor and Chair of Classics, Kenyon College

Ulysses Kyriacopoulos
Chairman, Imerys Industrial Minerals Greece S.A.

Laetitia La Follette (CYA ’75)
Professor of History of Art & Architecture, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Theo Melas-Kyriazi
Chief Financial Officer, Levitronix Technologies LLC

Alexander Nehamas
Edmund N. Carpenter II Class of 1943 Professor in the Humanities, Professor of Philosophy and Comparative Literature, Princeton University

Elaine Papoulias (CYA ’91)
Executive Director, Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies, Harvard University

Alexis G. Phylactopoulos

President, College Year in Athens

Anne F. Rothenberg (CYA '66)
Trustee, The Huntington Library Art Collections and Botanical Gardens

Elias Samaras
Founder, President and Managing Director, Digital Security Technologies S.A.

Thanos Veremis
Professor of Political History Emeritus, University of Athens; Vice Chairman, ELIAMEP

Artemis A. Zenetou
Executive Director, Fulbright Foundation in Greece

Cornelia Mayer Herzfeld (CYA ’66)
Recording Secretary of the Board of Trustees and Special Consultant to the President, College Year in Athens

Trustees Emeriti

John McK. Camp II
Director of the Agora Excavations, American School of Classical Studies at Athens

George A. David

Director, Leventis Group

George N. Hatsopoulos
Founder and Chairman Emeritus, Thermo Electron Corporation

Joan Caraganis Jakobson (CYA ‘65)
Free-Lance Writer; Advisory Board, Wesleyan Writers Conference; Trustee, New York Historical Society

Edmund Keeley
Straut Professor of English Emeritus and Director of Hellenic Studies Emeritus, Princeton University

Kitty P. Kyriacopoulos

Mary R. Lefkowitz
Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities Emerita, Wellesley College

Polyvios Vintiadis
Director, Morgens Waterfall Vintiadis & Co.

Board of Advisors 

Rhoda Borcherding
Director of Study Abroad (retired), Pomona College

P. Nikiforos Diamandouros
Professor of Comparative Politics, University of Athens; Former Greek Ombudsman

Jack Davis
Carl W. Blegen Professor of Greek Archaeology, University of Cincinnati; Former Director of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens

Christos Doumas
Professor of Archaeology Emeritus, University of Athens; Director, Excavations at Akrotiri, Thera

Nicholas Gage
Writer; Journalist

Thomas W. Gallant (CYA ’76)
Nicholas Family Endowed Chair, Professor of Modern Greek History, University of California, San Diego

Peter Green
James R. Dougherty Jr. Centennial Professor of Classics Emeritus, University of Texas at Austin; Adjunct Professor of Classics, University of Iowa

Michael Herzfeld
Ernest E. Monrad Professor of the Social Sciences in the Department of Anthropology, Harvard University

Martha Sharp Joukowsky
Professor Emerita of Old World Archaeology and Art, Brown University; Director, Petra Southern Temple Excavations; Former President of the Archaeological Institute of America

Gerald Lalonde
Professor of Classics, Grinnell College

Artemis Leontis
Professor of Modern Greek; Chair, Department of Classical Studies, University of Michigan

Lily Macrakis
Special Counselor to the President of Hellenic College-Holy Cross

James R. McCredie
Sherman Fairchild Professor Emeritus and Former Director, Institute of Fine Arts, New York University; Director, Excavations in Samothrace

Stephen G. Miller
Professor of Classical Archaeology Emeritus, University of California at Berkeley; Former Director, Excavations at Nemea

Thomas J. Miller
Former U.S. Ambassador to Greece; President/CEO, International Executive Service Corps (IESC)

Gregory Nagy
Director, Center for Hellenic Studies; Francis Jones Professor of Classical Greek Literature and Professor of Comparative Literature, Harvard University

Gene Rossides
President, American Hellenic Institute Foundation

Alan Shapiro (CYA '69)
W.H.Collins Vickers Professor of Archaeology, The John Hopkins University; Whitehead Professor at the American School of Classical Studies at Athens, 1992-93, 2012-13

Stephen V. Tracy
Former Director, American School of Classical Studies at Athens; Professor Emeritus, Ohio State University

Voula Tsouna
Professor of Philosophy/Chair, UC-Santa Barbara

Charles Kaufman Williams II
Director Emeritus, Corinth Excavations, American School of Classical Studies